Le texte de la FAQ :Okuma a écrit :
C'est discuté dans la FAQ et dans un encart dans un bouquin, mais ce n'est pas vraiment défini comme une règle.
.
Dracain wrote:There have been many questions about this subject, but they only covered bits and pieces of the whole thing, and I am quite curious as to how to do this situation (I also think an example would help people who have asked this question before).
I've been working on a Phoenix shugenja and I want to see if I have properly understood the rules correctly. The character (a fire specialist for the sake of this post) starts with the ability to learn and cast fire spells of the second mastery level, and when they level up and takes Isawa Tensai alternate path, learning one new spell, and now being able to cast and learn fire spells at mastery level 4. 3rd level brings 3 more fire spells and the ability to cast and learn fire spells at the 5th mastery level. This next level we take elemental guard, learning no new spells, and being able to cast and learn spells at the 6th mastery level (this is really my main question, which is if they can use mastery level 6 fire spells at the first level of elemental guard, as if they had just stuck with the shugenja base class in the first place). 5th insight level should bring a boost of 1 more shugenja level, meaning 3 more spells should be learned and the spells should be cast (and learned) at the 7th mastery level. the last level of elemental guard should be essentially the same as the first in what new spells they learn and how they go up in their ability to cast spells.
Is this correct? This is how I've interpreted the rules, but I am not 100% sure so I thought I would ask here. I understand this is a bit much to ask, but I am very confused by these questions, so I had to ask. Thanks very much for any answer.
Yes, to answer your core question, the first Shugenja Path a shugenja character takes counts toward the shugenja's School Rank for determining what spells he can cast, and the Tensai Path adds another +1 effective School Rank in the chosen Element.
Scutarii wrote:Shugenja and Multiple Schools.
I've been going through the thread and different parts of this question have been answered in different posts at different times and it's difficult to see the whole picture. So I am going to post how I believe it is meant to work and would like someone to confirm, deny or correct it so it's all in once place!
All of this is assuming you have managed to earn the right to multi-school with proper in game actions and GM approval etc.
1. When you move into the new school you gain the new technique.
2. You increase your Shugenja School rank by 1 (it does not reset to rank 1)
3. You gain the affinity and deficiency of the new school
4. The affinities and deficiencies stack.
5. You gain 3 new spells (though likely lower rank spells as you are given scrolls in a new clan's cipher and will need practice to understand them).
So. Rank 2 Meishodo Shugenja goes to the Isawa School.
They have Affinity Earth, Deficiency Air. SR2.
At IR3 they switch schools and select Fire as their affinity this time.
They becomes SR3, cast Earth and Fire spells at Mastery 4 and Air spells at Mastery 2.
They gain the Isawa technique for Fire.
They gain 3 spell scrolls.
Correct or incorrect?
Correct.